2015 NBA All-Star Game Weekend Guide


If you snagged tickets to this year’s NBA All-Star game, you will be a witness of an impeccable weekend. The Friday and Saturday events will be held at the Barclays Center and the 64th All-Star game will be played at Madison Square Garden. Below is a brief description and history of the events that will be occurring during All-Star weekend.

Friday, February 13th

Sprint All-Star Celebrity Game

The Celebrity game has been a lock during All-Star weekend since its inception during the 2002-2003 season in Atlanta, Georgia. The game typically features retired NBA players, WNBA players, actors, musicians, and athletes from other sports. The game will tip of at 7pm in the legendary Madison Square Garden and it will definitely be a comical, entertaining event. Here is the recent history of the Celebrity Game’s Most Valuable Player.

2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007
Arne Duncan Kevin Hart Kevin Hart Justin Bieber Michael Rapaport Terrell Owens Terrell Owens Tony Potts


BBVA Compass Rising Stars Challenge

This year, the Rising Stars Challenge will boast a new format. It will be a USA vs. The World challenge with each team having 10 players on their team. Each team will be comprised of four guards, four frontcourt players, and two other players regardless of position. While following those stipulations, each team will feature no less than three first-year players and three second-year players on their squad. The game will be played in the Barclays Center and will tip off at 9pm ET. This event is a great time for some of the younger, up-and-coming stars to showcase their talents in a game displaying the future of the NBA.

Saturday, February 14th

Degree Shooting Stars

For this unique event, an NBA player, a WNBA player, and a retired player will work together in this shooting competition. Each team will operate under a two minute time limit to make a 10-foot bank shot, a jumper from the top of the key, an NBA three-pointer, and a half-court shot in that order. The team cannot attempt the next shot until the previous shot was successfully made. The competition will begin at 8:30 p.m. and will be located in the Barclays Center. It is worth noting that Chris Bosh, Dominique Wilkins and Swin Cash (Team Bosh) are back-to-back winners of this event.

Taco Bell Skills Challenge

The Taco Bell Skills Challenge is a competition of the best guards in the NBA where participants compete in a two-round timed obstacle course. Throughout the course, players will have to successfully compete dribbling, passing and shooting stations as quickly as they can. The NBA initiated a new format last year where two teams of two will represent both conferences, where the fastest times from each conference will square off in the final round. Damian Lillard and Trey Burke’s 45.2 seconds defeated Michael Carter-Williams and Victor Oladipo by a tenth of a second last year.

Foot Locker Three-Point Contest

This is a competition to showcase some of the game’s most accurate sharpshooters. Players compete to make the most three pointers with each made shot counting as one point to the player’s score. However, the money ball, the last ball in the rack, is aworth two points to the player’s score. Six soon-to-be-named shooters will compete in this event which will be located in the Barclays Center. Here is a list of some of the champions over the past few seasons.

2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007
Marco Belinelli Kyrie Irving Kevin Love James Jones Paul Pierce Daequan Cook Jason Kapono Jason Kapono


Sprite Slam Dunk Contest

The finale is the most anticipated event of the night, the slam dunk contest. The participants who will be dunking in the Barclays Center have yet to be announced, but official decisions are expected to come soon. Spectators of this event are in store for a night of electrifying dunks and watching the high-fliers take off is an incredible sight. Even though there hasn’t been an official release on the participants, it is rumored that Victor Oladipo, Giannis Antetokounmpo, and Mason Plumlee are expected to compete in the contest. Below is a list of the previous ten champions.

2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007
John Wall Terrence Ross Jeremy Evans Blake Griffin Nate Robinson Nate Robinson Dwight Howard Gerald Green


Sunday, February 15th

NBA All-Star Game

The conclusion to All-Star weekend tips off at 8:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, where the best of the West play the beasts of the East. The starting lineups were announced on January 22nd, and the reserves will be announced. The West will feature leading vote-getter Stephen Curry, Kobe Bryant, Anthony Davis, Blake Griffin, and Marc Gasol. The East will send out Kyle Lowry, John Wall, LeBron James, Carmelo Anthony, and Pau Gasol. However, Bryant will need to be replaced due to injury and James Harden seems to be the likely candidate to replace Bryant. The All-Star game is not only a competitive event for the players, but a time for the fans to see the best players in the NBA on the court at the same time and is one of the top entertainment events of the year.