The Three-Minute Guide to the Laver Cup

What exactly is the Laver Cup?

The Laver Cup is an international indoor hard court men’s tennis tournament between two teams: Team Europe and Team World, the latter of which is composed of players from non-European countries. Each team will be captained by a legend of the sport. For the first three years, Björn Borg will captain Team Europe and John McEnroe will lead Team World. This year’s Laver Cup will be hosted at the United Center in Chicago but will continue to alternate in Europe and the rest of the world’s cities each year.

How do you get tickets?

There are currently 6 Laver Cup matches available for sale. You can find all ticket options here.

Why attend?

Last year’s matches were high quality, and included a pairing of Federer with Rafael Nadal. Nadal will not be competing in this year’s Laver Cup. But, it’s still some of the world’s best in a US city that rarely hosts tennis matches or stars of this caliber.  Plus, the Chicago Cubs and the Chicago Bears are out of town so if you need your sports’ fix, this is it! Finally, it’s indoor. The weather won’t affect the play.

Who will be there?

 Team Europe:

  1. Roger Federer
  2. Alexander Zverev
  3. Grigor Dimitrov
  4. Novak Djokovic
  5. David Goffin
  6. Kyle Edmund

Team World:

  1. Juan Martin Del Potro
  2. Kevin Anderson
  3. John Isner
  4. Diego Schwartzman
  5. Jack Sock
  6. Nick Kyrgios


What’s the format?

  • The event will be played over three days. On Friday and Saturday, there will be a day and night session followed by a final single day session on Sunday. Each day four matches are played – three singles and a doubles. Both singles and doubles will be best of three sets with ad scoring. In the event of split sets, the third set will be a 10-point match tiebreaker.
  • Each player will play at least one singles match during the first two days.
  • No player will play singles more than twice during the three days.
  • At least four of the six players must play doubles. No doubles combination can be played more than once, unless for the Decider on Day 3, if points are 12:12.
  • The winning team must reach 13 points.  In the event of a tie after all 12 matches are played, a final overtime doubles match – a Decider – will be played as a regular set with ad scoring and a tie break.
  • Friday’s line-up will be announced on Thursday afternoon.
  • Saturday’s line-up will be announced an hour after play ends on Friday night.
  • Sunday’s lineup will be announced an hour after play ends on Saturday night.

How do you win?

The first team to reach 13 points out of a total 24 points available will win the Laver Cup. If the points are tied at 12:12 at the end of all matches, a fifth match (Decider) on Sunday will be played to determine the winner.