Cotton Bowl Champions

2021 Cotton Bowl Tickets

The very first Cotton Bowl was won by the TCU Horned Frogs, when they defeated Marquette on January 1st, 1937. Below is a complete list of the Cotton Bowl games that have happened from then until today. TicketCity is based in Texas, so we have been closely associated with the Cotton Bowl Classic since we started in business in 1990.

Buy 2021 Cotton Bowl tickets at TicketCity. TicketCity also sells 2021 Cotton Bowl parking at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX.

College Football Playoffs

The Cotton Bowl is one of the CFP New Year’s Six bowls, along with the Rose BowlFiesta BowlPeach BowlSugar Bowl, and Orange Bowl, which are used to determine the College Football National Champion.

Date Played
January 1, 1937TCUMarquette16-6
January 1, 1938RiceColorado28-14
January 2, 1939Saint Mary’s (CA)Texas Tech20-13
January 1, 1940ClemsonBoston College6-3
January 1, 1941Texas A&MFordham13-12
January 1, 1942AlabamaTexas A&M29-21
January 1, 1943TexasGeorgia Tech14-7
January 1, 1944TexasRandolph Field7-7
January 1, 1945Oklahoma A&MTCU34-0
January 1, 1946TexasMissouri40-27
January 1, 1947ArkansasLSU0-0
January 1, 1948SMUPenn State13-13
January 1, 1949SMUOregon21-13
January 2, 1950RiceNorth Carolina27-13
January 1, 1951TennesseeTexas20-14
January 1, 1952KentuckyTCU20-7
January 1, 1953TexasTennessee16-0
January 1, 1954RiceAlabama28-6
January 1, 1955Georgia TechArkansas14-6
January 2, 1956Ole MissTCU14-13
January 1, 1957TCUSyracuse28-27
January 1, 1958NavyRice20-7
January 1, 1959TCUAir Force0-0
January 1, 1960SyracuseTexas23-14
January 2, 1961DukeArkansas7-6
January 1, 1962TexasOle Miss12-7
January 1, 1963LSUTexas13-0
January 1, 1964TexasNavy28-6
January 1, 1965ArkansasNebraska10-7
January 1, 1966LSUArkansas14-7
December 31, 1966GeorgiaSMU24-9
January 1, 1968Texas A&MAlabama20-16
January 1, 1969TexasTennessee36-13
January 1, 1970TexasNotre Dame21-17
January 1, 1971Notre DameTexas24-11
January 1, 1972Penn StateTexas30-6
January 1, 1973TexasAlabama17-13
January 1, 1974NebraskaTexas19-3
January 1, 1975Penn StateBaylor41-20
January 1, 1976ArkansasGeorgia31-10
January 1, 1977HoustonMaryland30-21
January 2, 1978Notre DameTexas38-10
January 1, 1979Notre DameHouston35-34
January 1, 1980HoustonNebraska17-14
January 1, 1981AlabamaBaylor30-2
January 1, 1982TexasAlabama14-12
January 1, 1983SMUPittsburgh7-3
January 2, 1984GeorgiaTexas10-9
January 1, 1985Boston CollegeHouston45-28
January 1, 1986Texas A&MAuburn36-16
January 1, 1987Ohio StateTexas A&M28-12
January 1, 1988Texas A&MNotre Dame35-10
January 2, 1989UCLAArkansas17-3
January 1, 1990TennesseeArkansas31-27
January 1, 1991MiamiTexas46-3
January 1, 1992Florida StateTexas A&M10-2
January 1, 1993Notre DameTexas A&M28-3
January 1, 1994Notre DameTexas A&M24-21
January 2, 1995USCTexas Tech55-14
January 1, 1996ColoradoOregon38-6
January 1, 1997BYUKansas State19-15
January 1, 1998UCLATexas A&M29-23
January 1, 1999TexasMississippi State38-11
January 1, 2000ArkansasTexas27-6
January 1, 2001Kansas StateTennessee35-21
January 1, 2002OklahomaArkansas10-3
January 1, 2003TexasLSU35-20
January 2, 2004Ole MissOklahoma State31-28
January 1, 2005TennesseeTexas A&M38-7
January 2, 2006AlabamaTexas Tech13-10
January 1, 2007AuburnNebraska17-14
January 1, 2008MissouriArkansas38-7
January 2, 2009Ole MissTexas Tech47-34
January 2, 2010Ole MissOklahoma State21-7
January 7, 2011LSUTexas A&M41-24
January 6, 2012ArkansasKansas State29-16
January 4, 2013Texas A&MOklahoma41-13
January 3, 2014MissouriOklahoma State41-31
January 1, 2015Michigan StateBaylor42-41
Dec 31, 2015AlabamaMichigan State38-0
January 2, 2017WisconsinWestern Michigan24-16
Dec 29, 2017Ohio StateUSC24-7
Dec 29, 2018ClemsonNotre Dame30-3
Dec 28, 2019Penn StateMemphis53-39
Dec 30, 2020OklahomaFlorida55-20
Dec 31, 2021TBDTBD

We update this page with results of the most recent Cotton Bowl game. For more information on College Football Bowl Games, please visit our main bowl game page or check out the informative content here on our blog.