England to host 2015 Rugby World Cup

The International Rugby Board announced the host countries for the 2015 Rugby World Cup and 2019 Rugby World Cup.  The 2015 Rugby World Cup will be played in England, while the 2019 matches will be hosted by Japan.  The host countries estimated that each RWC match would have attendance of 57,000 fans.

The Rugby World Cup is one of the premier sporting events on Earth.  The tournament determines the World Champion of rugby from 20 nations that qualify.  The reigning World champ is South Africa, who won the 2007 Rugby World Cup in France.

The next Rugby World Cup is in 2011 in New Zealand, which will be played in September & October.  New Zealand returns as host country for the first time since they & Australia co-hosted the first Rugby World Cup in 1987.  New Zealand won the 1987 Rugby World Cup and finished 2nd in the 1995 RWC.  Only four countries have ever won the Rugby World Cup: Australia (twice), England, New Zealand and South Africa (twice). 

The host cities for the 2011 RWC in New Zealand are Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton & Wellington.  2011 Rugby World Cup ticketsare not available at this time on TicketCity, but keep checking back for more information.




As TicketCity’s President, Zach leads company operations and long term strategic direction. With 20+ years of experience in the ticket industry, Zach enjoys talking with people about new technologies and trends that continue to improve the fan experience.