Stanley Cup Champions

While the Stanley Cup was first awarded in 1893, it wasn’t until 1927 that it was a season-end trophy for a single league of hockey. Since 1915, the Montreal Canadiens have won the trophy the most times and have the most appearances in the Stanley Cup Finals. The most successful US team is the Detroit Red Wings, who have won the Cup 11 times.

Current NHL Champion

The current holders of the Stanley Cup are the Tampa Bay Lightning, who won back-to-back NHL Championships in 2020 and 2021. You can buy tickets to this year’s Stanley Cup at TicketCity.

Stanley Cup Champions since 1927

Below is the full list of Stanley Cup NHL Champions since 1927.

YearChampionLosing TeamGames
2021Tampa Bay LightningMontreal Canadiens4-1
2020Tampa Bay LightningDallas Stars4-2
2019St. Louis BluesBoston Bruins4-3
2018Washington CapitalsVegas Golden Knights4-1
2017Pittsburgh PenguinsNashville Predators4-2
2016Pittsburgh PenguinsSan Jose Sharks4-2
2015Chicago BlackhawksTampa Bay Lightning4-2
2014Los Angeles KingsNew York Rangers4-1
2013Chicago BlackhawksBoston Bruins4-2
2012Los Angeles KingsNew Jersey Devils4-2
2011Boston BruinsVancouver Canucks4-3
2010Chicago BlackhawksPhiladelphia Flyers4-2
2009Pittsburgh PenguinsDetroit Red Wings4-3
2008Detroit Red WingsPittsburgh Penguins4-2
2007Anaheim DucksOttawa Senators4-1
2006Carolina HurricanesEdmonton Oilers4-3
2005Season CancelledDue to NHL Lockout0-0
2004Tampa Bay LightningCalgary Flames4-3
2003New Jersey DevilsAnaheim Ducks4-3
2002Detroit Red WingsCarolina Hurricanes4-1
2001Colorado AvalancheNew Jersey Devils4-3
2000New Jersey DevilsDallas Stars4-2
1999Dallas StarsBuffalo Sabres4-2
1998Detroit Red WingsWashington Capitals4-0
1997Detroit Red WingsPhiladelphia Flyers4-0
1996Colorado AvalancheFlorida Panthers4-0
1995New Jersey DevilsDetroit Red Wings4-0
1994New York RangersVancouver Canucks4-3
1993Montreal CanadiensLos Angeles Kings4-1
1992Pittsburgh PenguinsChicago Blackhawks4-0
1991Pittsburgh PenguinsMinnesota North Stars4-2
1990Edmonton OilersBoston Bruins4-1
1989Calgary FlamesMontreal Canadians4-2
1988Edmonton OilersBoston Bruins4-0
1987Edmonton OilersPhiladelphia Flyers4-3
1986Montreal CanadiensCalgary Flames4-1
1985Edmonton OilersPhiladelphia Flyers4-1
1984Edmonton OilersNew York Islanders4-1
1983New York IslandersEdmonton Oilers4-0
1982New York IslandersVancouver Canucks4-0
1981New York IslandersMinnesota North Stars4-1
1980New York IslandersPhiladelphia Flyers4-2
1979Montreal CanadiensNew York Rangers4-1
1978Montreal CanadiensBoston Bruins4-2
1977Montreal CanadiensBoston Bruins4-0
1976Montreal CanadiensPhiladelphia Flyers4-0
1975Philadelphia FlyersBuffalo Sabres4-2
1974Philadelphia FlyersBoston Bruins4-2
1973Montreal CanadiensChicago Black Hawks4-2
1972Boston BruinsNew York Rangers4-2
1971Montreal CanadiensChicago Black Hawks4-3
1970Boston BruinsSt. Louis Blues4-0
1969Montreal CanadiensSt. Louis Blues4-0
1968Montreal CanadiensSt. Louis Blues4-0
1967Toronto Maple LeafsMontreal Canadiens4-2
1966Montreal CanadiensDetroit Red Wings4-2
1965Montreal CanadiensChicago Black Hawks4-3
1964Toronto Maple LeafsDetroit Red Wings4-3
1963Toronto Maple LeafsDetroit Red Wings4-1
1962Toronto Maple LeafsChicago Black Hawks4-2
1961Chicago Black HawksDetroit Red Wings4-2
1960Montreal CanadiensToronto Maple Leafs4-0
1959Montreal CanadiensToronto Maple Leafs4-1
1958Montreal CanadiensBoston Bruins4-2
1957Montreal CanadiensBoston Bruins4-1
1956Montreal CanadiensDetroit Red Wings4-1
1955Detroit Red WingsMontreal Canadiens4-3
1954Detroit Red WingsMontreal Canadiens4-3
1953Montreal CanadiensBoston Bruins4-1
1952Detroit Red WingsMontreal Canadiens4-0
1951Toronto Maple LeafsMontreal Canadiens4-1
1950Detroit Red WingsNew York Rangers4-3
1949Toronto Maple LeafsDetroit Red Wings4-0
1948Toronto Maple LeafsDetroit Red Wings4-0
1947Toronto Maple LeafsMontreal Canadiens4-2
1946Montreal CanadiensBoston Bruins4-1
1945Toronto Maple LeafsDetroit Red Wings4-3
1944Montreal CanadiensChicago Black Hawks4-0
1943Detroit Red WingsBoston Bruins4-0
1942Toronto Maple LeafsDetroit Red Wings4-3
1941Boston BruinsDetroit Red Wings4-0
1940New York RangersToronto Maple Leafs4-2
1939Boston BruinsToronto Maple Leafs4-1
1938Chicago Black HawksToronto Maple Leafs3-1
1937Detroit Red WingsNew York Rangers3-2
1936Detroit Red WingsToronto Maple Leafs3-1
1935Montreal MaroonsToronto Maple Leafs3-0
1934Chicago Black HawksDetroit Red Wings3-1
1933New York RangersToronto Maple Leafs3-1
1932Toronto Maple LeafsNew York Rangers3-0
1931Montreal CanadiensChicago Black Hawks3-2
1930Montreal CanadiensBoston Bruins2-0
1929Boston BruinsNew York Rangers2-0
1928New York RangersMontreal Maroons3-2
1927Ottawa SenatorsBoston Bruins2-0-2