Who will host the 2018 & 2022 World Cup?

FIFA is the governing body over soccer’s biggest international tournament, the World Cup.  As such FIFA selects the host countries for the event.  FIFA announced the bidding countries for the 2018 World Cup and the 2022 World Cup.  Their Executive Committee will select the winning bidders and announce them in December 2010.

Countries bidding to host 2018 World Cup & 2022 World Cup:
Belgium & Netherlands
Qatar (only bidding on 2022)
South Korea (only bidding on 2022)
Spain & Portugal
United States

The location for the next two tournaments has already been set.  The 2010 World Cup is being played in South Africa and the 2014 World Cup is being hosted by Brazil.  The World Cup tournament rivals the Olympics as the biggest sporting event on the planet.  Soccer is the most popular sport on Earth, so it is a huge deal for countries to participate in the tournament.  Qualifying for each region begins years in advance of each tournament and decides which representatives (by region) will qualify for the World Cup.

Link to official FIFA website.




As TicketCity’s President, Zach leads company operations and long term strategic direction. With 20+ years of experience in the ticket industry, Zach enjoys talking with people about new technologies and trends that continue to improve the fan experience.